Meet Our Department

The Green River Police Department was founded on August 11, 1868. Thomas J Smith was elected the first town Marshall at that time. Today there are 27 Sworn Officers in the department: Chief, two Captains, five Sergeants, two Corporals, one Juvenile Detective, one General Detective, two School Resource Officers, and one Narcotics Officer. Other Non-Sworn members include; One full-time Evidence & Property Officer, two full-time Animal Control Officers, two part-time Animal Control Officers, two part-time Animal Shelter Attendants, one part-time Nuisance/Restitution Officers, two full-time Administrative Services Technicians, and 18 part-time Crossing Guards.